INDEPENDENT REGULATORY BOARD FOR AUDITORS

CEO update on the new IRBA Board

Johannesburg / 18 June 2021

Dear Stakeholder

The Minister of Finance, Tito Mboweni, met with the newly appointed IRBA Board members and the former Caretaker Board recently and the Board elected Mr Fulvio Tonelli as Chairman and Naidene Ford-Hoon as Deputy Chairman of the Board.

The other Board members are: Ms Ruth Benjamin-Swales; Ms Thabiso Kutumela; Ms Nalini Maharaj; Mr Protas Phili; Ms Zine Mshengu; Mr Eugene Zungu; Ms Chuma Mjali; and Sir Richard Hawkins, who will be allocated to Board sub-committee roles following their induction in the coming week.

The IRBA welcomes Minister Mboweni's announcement and would like to congratulate the new Board members, Chairman and Deputy Chairman on their appointments and wish the Board well in their tenure.

As outlined by the Minister, the immediate task of the Board is to initiate a process to recruit and appoint the new CEO. The last 18 months were challenging, however, the staff remained focused and committed to achieving the objectives of the organisation.

We look forward to report to and work with the new Board as we embark on a journey to restore confidence and trust in the IRBA and the auditing profession through our refocused strategy.

A full statement from the Minister of Finance on the announcement of the Board can be downloaded on our website on www.irba.co.za. A media interview with Major-General Roy Andersen, former Caretaker Board member can be viewed on https://www.irba.co.za/videos/general

Imre Nagy Acting Chief Executive Officer

About the IRBA

The objective of the IRBA is to create and enhance the framework and principles to protect the financial interests of the public and to support registered auditors to carry out their duties competently, fearlessly and in good faith.